Camp Lejeune Globe: Movies

Movies

FROM THE FRONT ROW

‘Isn’t It Romantic’ hilariously pokes fun at rom-coms

“Isn’t It Romantic” PG-13

Updated: 4:49 pm | See more

MORE MOVIE REVIEWS

Visually stunning 'Marwen' welcomes us to the dollhouse

Fans of high-concept, visually stunning movies with an often-confounded protagonist at its center are most likely fans of Robert Zemeckis. His directing résumé includes “Forrest Gump,” “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” and all three entries in the “Back to the Future” series.

Posted in Movies on Thursday, January 10, 2019 2:00 am.

“Green Book” tackles race and friendship with heart and humor

“Green Book” (PG-13) Friendship is a gift eschewing all bounds and explanation. No finer example than “Green Book,” Peter Farrelly’s crowd-pleasing charmer about a white Bronx bouncer and an erudite black classical pianist overcoming racial, cultural and educational divides to forge a decades-long bond that we all could take a lesson from. Never mind it’s set in fall 1962, a time when Americans were catching their breathe in the wake of the Cuban Missile Crisis. The message is very much a contemporary plea to end current discord . If these two dichotomous humans can get along, can’t we all?

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, December 27, 2018 4:00 pm.

“Creed II” is a split decision

“Creed II” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, December 20, 2018 8:00 am.

Second installment in the “Fantastic Beasts” series gets the ball rolling

“Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindewald” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, December 13, 2018 9:00 am.

“Ralph Breaks the Internet” is full of heart, humor, energy

“Ralph Breaks the Internet” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Friday, December 7, 2018 8:00 am.

‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ biopic will rock you

Dana Barbuto

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Friday, November 30, 2018 6:00 am.

‘Nutcracker and the Four Realms’ gets by on style

“The Nutcracker and the Four Realms” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Wednesday, November 21, 2018 6:30 am.

Carell and Chalamet are heartbreaking in ‘Beautiful Boy’

“Beautiful Boy” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Friday, November 16, 2018 7:00 am.

New, improved ‘Halloween’ picks up the pieces all these years later

“Halloween” (R)

Posted in Movies on Friday, November 9, 2018 9:00 am.

The stars of Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga keep rising in ‘A Star Is Born’ remake

“A Star Is Born” (R)

Posted in Movies on Friday, November 2, 2018 8:00 am.

“First Man” goes on a cerebral, emotional voyage to the moon

“First Man” (PG-13)

Posted in Movies on Friday, October 26, 2018 11:00 am.

Magic, mystery, mayhem reside in “The House with A Clock in Its Walls”

“The House With A Clock in Its Walls” (PG)

Posted in Movies on Friday, October 19, 2018 7:00 am.

Loss of innocence tangible in “White Boy Rick”

“White Boy Rick” (R)

Posted in Movies on Friday, October 12, 2018 2:30 pm.

Newest “Predator” entry makes for a wild, funny good time

“The Predator” (R)

Posted in Movies on Thursday, October 4, 2018 12:00 am. Updated: 10:07 am.

“Alpha” is an ambitious adventure for all ages

It’s not a very good title, but it’s a beautifully made film, and is one of those rare pieces of commercial cinema that works equally well for all ages.

Posted in Movies on Thursday, September 27, 2018 12:00 am.

"Crazy Rich Asians" is breezy predictable fun

A couple of the reasons “Crazy Rich Asians” works well as a contemporary romantic comedy are that it touches

Posted in Movies on Wednesday, September 12, 2018 1:27 pm.

This is one ’MEG’nificently bad, big-fish movie

“The Meg” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, September 6, 2018 12:00 am.

Action-comedy “Spy Who Dumped Me” lacks intelligence

“The Spy Who Dumped Me” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, August 30, 2018 12:00 am.

Disney visits the Pooh crew anew in “Christopher Robin”

“Christopher Robin” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, August 23, 2018 12:00 am.

Only huge ABBA fans should ‘Take a Chance’ on ‘Mamma Mia’ sequel

“Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, August 16, 2018 12:00 am. Updated: 9:19 am.

Action lovers should choose to accept ‘MI6’

“Mission: Impossible— Fallout” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, August 9, 2018 12:00 am.

The return of ‘The Equalizer’ is a welcomed one

“The Equalizer 2” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, August 2, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Sicario’ sequel returns to the U.S.-Mexican border but ups the danger ante

“Sicario: Day of the Soldado” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, July 26, 2018 12:00 am.

Old-timers have a good time with court time in ‘Uncle Drew’

“Uncle Drew” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, July 19, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Ant-Man and the Wasp’ is something to buzz about

“Ant-Man and the Wasp” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, July 12, 2018 12:00 am.

Paleo pandemonium breaks out in ‘Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom’

“Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, July 5, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Tag’ might turn out to be this year’s ‘it’ movie

“Tag” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, June 28, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Incredibles’ well worth the 14 year wait

“The Incredibles 2” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:00 am. Updated: 10:25 am.

This ‘Star Wars’ stand-alone doesn’t quite make it through hyperspace

“Solo: A Star Wars Story” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, June 14, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Deadpool 2’ revels in its irreverence

“Deadpool 2” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, June 7, 2018 12:00 am.

Melissa McCarthy gets the ‘Party’ started

“Life of the Party” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, May 31, 2018 12:00 am.

Charlize Theron delivers in pregnancy drama ‘Tully’

“Tully” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, May 24, 2018 12:00 am.

‘I Feel Pretty’ will make you feel pretty good

“I Feel Pretty” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, May 17, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Avengers: Infinity War’ is a game-changer

“Avengers: Infinity War” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, May 10, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Rampage’ is a mindless good time

“Rampage” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, May 3, 2018 12:00 am.

Spielberg scores a lot of points with ‘Ready Player One’

“Ready Player One” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, April 26, 2018 12:00 am.

“Pacific Rim: Uprising” is an assault on the senses

“Pacific Rim: Uprising” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, April 19, 2018 12:00 am.

A rebooted and re-energized ‘Tomb Raider’ is a great adaptation of the video game

“Tomb Raider” (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, April 12, 2018 12:00 am.

‘The Shape of Water’ takes the form of a near-perfect movie

“The Shape of Water” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, April 5, 2018 12:00 am.

‘A Wrinkle in Time’ is a ball of confusion

“A Wrinkle in Time” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, March 29, 2018 12:00 am. Updated: 1:20 pm.

Movie review: There’s not much good in ‘The Greatest Showman’

“The Greatest Showman” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, March 22, 2018 12:00 am.

Movie review: Stop-motion goes back in time in the clever and crazy ‘Early Man’

“Early Man” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, March 15, 2018 12:00 am.

Movie review: A cast of funny actors proves they’re game for ‘Game Night’

“Game Night” (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, March 1, 2018 12:00 am.

The ‘Paddington’ sequel bears laughs, warmth, charm

“Paddington 2” (PG)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, February 22, 2018 12:00 am.

Movie review: ‘15:17 to Paris’ never leaves the station

15:17 to Paris (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, February 15, 2018 8:00 am.

‘The Commuter’ derailed by implausibility

In “The Commuter,” another late-career actioner, Liam Neeson takes his save-the-day shenanigans aboard the 6:25 train to Cold Spring, a bumpy ride on which he must root out bad guys or it’s the end of the line for his family.

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, February 8, 2018 9:07 am.

‘12 Strong’ tells the true story of the Horse Soldiers

12 Strong (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, February 1, 2018 12:00 am.

‘Hostiles’ proves that Hollywood still has Westerns’ values

Hostiles (R)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, January 18, 2018 12:00 am.

Meryl Streep stands tall in journalism drama 'The Post'

‘The Post’ (PG-13)

Posted in Carolina living, Movies on Thursday, January 11, 2018 12:00 am.

Lifestyles Photo Blog

Chaplain's Corner