Volunteers from around Marine Corps Air Station New River attended an appreciation ceremony in their honor at the New River Officers’ Club, April 27. During the ceremony 11 volunteers and two organizations were honored. One stood out among the many.

 “I was very surprised I received the (President’s) Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Margie Rogers, volunteer. “I had no idea (I was receiving the award.)”

A volunteer needs a minimum of 4,000 hours over the course of their life to receive the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Rogers volunteered 5,400 hours from January 2010 to 2017.

“(I volunteer) because I love working with the military. It’s just part of who I am,” said Rogers. “I did my social work internship with the (Navy-Marine Corps Relief Society) and enjoyed it so much I decided to stay. I’ve been with them ever since.”

Rogers has been volunteering with the society for 7 years. Rogers doesn’t volunteer for awards or recognition. She does it to help others.

“I don’t do it for the awards. That’s just the side achievement,” said Rogers. “If I get one, it’s great but that’s not something I work toward. I work for the joy. It’s very heartwarming to know that I can help the service members, their dependents and the veterans. That’s my award.”

Bronze, silver and gold awards were also awarded. Each recipient received a certificate and a pin.

The Bronze award recipients were:

April Graham volunteers as the family readiness assistant with Marine Medium Tiltrotor Squadron 167,

Kimberly Smith volunteers with seniors in the Onslow County Community,

Cpl. Carlety Ventura volunteers with the NMCRS

The Silver award recipients were:

Betty Jo Waite volunteers with the New River Chapel,

Dilicia Beckwith volunteers with the NMCRS,

Abby Herrick volunteers with the NMCRS,

The Gold award recipients were:

Jamie Miller volunteers with the NMCRS,

Bella Flynn volunteers with the NMCRS,

Kady Luck volunteers with the NMCRS,

Elizabeth Wyman volunteers with the NMCRS,

“To our volunteers, although you may not seek recognition for your selfless service, the example you set delivers a powerful message that may encourage other to take action,” said Col. Russell Burton, commanding officer of the air station. “For that we honor you today.”